The website I’m about to create will be an online portfolio to display the work I’ve created. Most of the content will be 3D, because that is the area I’ve done most of my work in. I could display these with screenshots or videos, or use a service like P3D or Sketchfab to present the 3D Models in an interactive way. That way someone browsing my work could see the model from multiple angles without me needing to clutter a page with renders, and if they wanted to check my technique they could view the wireframe. It would be efficient way to show work without using up much space. Here is an example using p3D and my Harlequin character model. This could be embedded in a webpage and used to display the model in a single window. This gives the viewer freedom to revolve the model, and saves me space because I’m not using multiple images to show all views. A non-cluttered page would leave a potential employer with a better feeling than a page with too much on it.

 

The reason I’m making this is to display my work. One of the best ways to get a job is to prove you can do it. Having an easily accessible portfolio of my work means a potential employer can see what I can do with minimal fuss and effort. With this portfolio I can have my work seen by potential employers without having to go anywhere with a memory stick of a hard drive. Additionally, a portfolio website can contain contact information so if someone did want to employ me, everything they’d need to know would be right here.

My website should be structured in categories. Information about me and how to contact me would be on seperate webpages or a single one, depending on how much space I use describing, and my work would be split up by type. Some of the work may be in multiple categories, so some of the categories would share pages. Image

To get some ideas about a good design, I researched by looking at the portfolio websites of others. The website of Adam Dorman has an interesting design. Mostly the middle of the screen is used, with a rectangular shape similar to a piece of paper, possibly to bring to mind the idea of a paper list of skills. This is supported by the listed way his portfolio is split up. On the right is a list of ways to share or contact him, which seems to be using all major options available. His portfolio pages are filled with thumbnails of the content, and clicking on it links to the full piece.

 

Adam Dorman Example

Another artist, Michealo has a less organised appearance. There’s an image from his body of work in the centre, with the thumbnails to look at others above it, and lots of empty space on both sides. Information about how he describes his technique (photoshop on steroids), links to buy his work and contact information are listed in the pages linked on the left. This design feels somewhat empty, but the impressive image that comes up as soon as the page loads does intrigue me to see more of his work, which shows it’s effective at getting people to browse his portfolio.

Michealo Example

The third example I looked at was from the portfolio of Henning Ludvigsen. This website seems effective from a glance as it instantly ties him to a branded game, Call of Cthulu. Some of his work is used as a background, and there are thumbnails to more. Not a bit of the page is wasted. However, all the images on the page make it feel crowded, and make it difficult to focus on the work I came to see, rather than everything else that’s there. There’s possibly too much to look at all at once. However, the face and brand make him recognisable and more memorable than being just a list of contact details. The contact section also has links to Google + , Facebook and Twitter. There is an email function available on the webpage. This means if someone is thinking of hiring him for work, thet can contact him immediately with queries, and a priority setting depending on how fast you need a response. This helps for contacting because I don’t have to leave his website to get in touch, and there’s still thumbnails and the background of work to remind me why I’m interested. This seems fairly effective, but I think somewhat overdone. That’s too much to look at once.

Henning Ludvigsen Example

Judging by these three, it seems I need a design that’s fairly simple. Too much information or images will just be distracting. However, I also need enough images, or a suitably impressive image, to capture the attention of the viewer when they load up my website, or they’ll lose interest. I’m not connected with any branded products, so I should use a design that shows more of my skills and body of work, and emphasise my ability rather than history,as I have none. If possible, some sort of form to send queries might be helpful, because I can keep their attention on me and my work, and still get queries from interested people. If I can keep them looking at my work, I probably should. A simple design with an emphasis on my abilities and work could prove effective.